OnePlus Goes Invite-Free

OnePlus logo

And the surprising news from OnePlus continues…

On Tuesday Android Central reported that current OnePlus devices—the OnePlus 2 and OnePlus X—were now available for purchase through Amazon UK, with Amazon US listings on the way.

Even bigger news than that, however, is that the company’s new phone, the OnePlus 3, will be sold without invites from launch. In a post on the OnePlus forums yesterday co-founder Carl Pei wrote that open sales for the OP3 will begin at 3pm Eastern Time on June 14th. Prior to that it will be available only in The Loop, described as the world’s first global VR shopping experience. Mmkay.

Read on for the full text of the announcement.

===

“I know there have been a lot of rumors and leaks. By now, most of you are aware that the OnePlus 3 will be out soon. However, we’re extremely excited about one key piece of news that we’ve managed to keep a secret:

We’re releasing the OnePlus 3 invite-free, right from launch day. In addition, invites are gone forever from future OnePlus product launches.

The invite system has a special place in our history. When we first started out, our team was incredibly small. We had no idea what the demand of the OnePlus One would look like. We also weren’t fans of flash sales, where there’s a risk of everything selling out immediately, forcing fans to wait indefinitely. To address this, we designed the invite system to give customers a chance to purchase a phone as soon as we had inventory ready.

The demand for the OnePlus One was much higher than expected. Some got into a frenzy hunting for invites, while others have complained continuously and loudly ever since. Regardless though, the invite system allowed us to scale our operations and manage our risks to help us grow more sustainably.

With the OnePlus 3, we’re officially saying goodbye to invites. It’s a big step for us as a company, our fans, and fellow tech enthusiasts. After sending out millions of invites over the past two years, it’s hard to not think back to the early days and how far we’ve come. We’re proud to have reached a point where we feel confident in making our new device available without invites from day one.

We’re excited to invite you to the Loop for the official launch of the OnePlus 3 on June 14. Make sure you don’t miss out on the grand unveiling. The doors to the Loop will open at 12:30 PM Eastern Time*. During the first two hours of the launch, our new flagship device will be available exclusively in the Loop, which doubles as the world’s first global VR shopping experience. Open sales for the OnePlus 3 will begin on OnePlus.net at 3:00 PM Eastern Time. Start preparing to join the experience today and download the app now!

Never Settle

Launch schedule for all time zones on June 14:

  • 12.30 PM EDT (New York)
  • 9.30 AM PDT (San Francisco)
  • 4.30 PM UTC/GMT
  • 5.30 PM BST (London)
  • 6.30 PM CEST (Paris)
  • 10.00 PM IST(Bengaluru)”

===

It will be interesting to see if OnePlus will have enough stock to meet demand on launch day, or if this is going to end up being yet another disaster for the fledgling smartphone maker.

Sources: Android Central, OnePlus Forums

Leave a Reply